D hugging his latest stuffed toy acquisition, a giant panda, in a pillow fort of his own making.  This has nothing to do with this post but is damn cute.
D hugging his latest stuffed toy acquisition, a giant panda, in a pillow fort of his own making. This has nothing to do with this post but is damn cute.

I’ve borrowed the title for this post from my least-favorite Jeopardy category.  A bit of an odds and ends post…

 

Father’s Day

 

I think I blew it on Father’s Day.

 

Last year at this time, the twins were less than a month old, and I hadn’t yet figured out how to fit basic personal hygiene into my day, much less pack up the boys and take them out, alone, to shop for a gift.  I searched online and found the only golf course in a hundred-kilometre radius that would let me purchase a gift card online and then mail it to me.  The real gift was the tacit message I was sending with the gift card: it’s OK to go golfing for a day.

 

This year I didn’t even manage that.  I did buy a box of crayons and let the boys “sign” their card for dad.  I put the card on the kitchen floor and gave a crayon each to R and D.  While I was demonstrating how to use the crayon for D, R made a beeline for the kitchen cabinets:

 

crayon cabinet
R’s first attempt at coloring. A Mr. Clean Magic Eraser restored my kitchen cabinets to their former applesauce-splattered shine.

Seriously.  The kid had never held a crayon in his life and he goes straight for the walls.  While I intervened, D started eating the envelope.  I am, of course, ever mindful of the potentially fatal dangers of envelope glue (hey, I watched Seinfeld), so I stopped him, but then R was back to working on his cabinet masterpiece…you can see where this is going.  Mission aborted.

 

I made sure J didn’t have to change any poopy diapers.  And I did make him a couple of nice meals, but (cough, cough), that’s just standard operating procedure around here, so really I’m not sure he enjoyed his “special” day.  I’ll have to make that up to him.  In all seriousness, he is just the best husband and a really amazing dad, so he deserves it.

 

Mom Friends Update

 

My new Mom Friends stuck! We got together again last week.  Our plans to walk around the park were botched by a torrential downpour, so we went to a cafe in the park – all four babies in tow – for coffee and breakfast.

 

I strapped R and D  into two highchairs, wiped the table with hand sanitizer (better than nothing) and set them up with toys, Cheerios, and their water.  They were in a good mood and chatty.  I thought they were doing well.  I was a little distracted keeping them entertained, but I was able to hold up my end of the conversation.  But Mom Friend #1 kept apologizing to people around us for the noise. I didn’t think apologies were strictly necessary…they were loud-ish (I guess) but certainly not crying or screaming.

 

I understand the woes of restaurant-goers who don’t want to hear a screaming kid while they’re trying to enjoy their meals.  I’ve been there.  But any restaurant that supplies highchairs is implicitly welcoming kids, no?  Plus, this was a park cafe, bistro-style, in an open atrium – it is as loud as a high school cafeteria in there.  Not a cozy romantic overpriced restaurant.  And most of the other people in there at 10 am on a Thursday are either other parents or seniors.  They’re too busy with their own kids (the former), or making goofy faces at your babies and telling you to “enjoy every minute of it” (the latter).

 

Could it be that my hearing has been dulled by having twins?  Is my perception of what’s “loud” totally skewed now?  Were we making a huge racket?  I don’t know.  But I really want to have kids I can actually take to a restaurant, and the only way to do that is to practice.

 

After the restaurant, I thought for sure we were going to get dumped by the new mom friends – for being too noisy? – but we weren’t.  We’ve got plans again this week. Yay!

 

Blog Awards

 

A follow up to an earlier post about receiving my first-ever oh-so-fun Blog Award.  Here are a few of the blogs I’ve nominated for the Liebster Award.  There are many more I would have nominated, but they’ve either already received it, or they aren’t a “new” blog.

 

New blogs that I’ve nominated:

 

The Left Side

 

Lady Champagne

 

Moments in Mommyland

 

The Daydreamer and the Juggernaut

 

Check them out when you have a moment!

 

And finally…

 

One of the things I’ve learned since becoming a mom is that I need to take time for myself.  It makes me a better mom and wife.

 

And…in a similar vein, I need to get back in shape.

 

I used to be in shape.  In 2010 I was in the best shape of my life – I ran three half marathons that year, biked to work all summer, and did hot yoga once a week.  I was healthy and happy, not “thin” by our crazy standards, but a healthy weight, strong, and wasn’t running to the freezer for ice cream every time I had a rough day.

 

Then I had ACL reconstruction surgery on my knee, got pregnant, had a miscarriage, got pregnant again, and then had twins.  With a bum knee and ankles too swollen to fit into my running shoes, I kicked back and started eating ice cream straight out of the bucket.

 

So a couple of months back, in an effort to remedy this, I started a “Couch to 5K”  running program. Ouch.  To go from considering yourself a “runner” to barely being able to chug out three consecutive minutes of slow jogging was an eye opener.  It was an eight week program that I started nine weeks ago.  I think I’m on week four right now.

 

With the husband home all summer (he’s a teacher), I’ve decided to sign up for a twice-weekly boot camp.  This should provide for plenty of comical blog material.  I’ll keep you posted on that.  But, it also gets me out of the house twice a week for an hour, alone, to do something that’s just for me, which is just as important as my ability to do girly pushups and not fall on my ass doing squats.

English: Winterhalter does a one-armed pushup ...
Yeah, I pretty much look like this doing pushups.   (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
6 thoughts on “Potpourri

  1. Love this post and yes, we all want to look like this when we are doing pushups! I am getting ready to do a Wednesday Blog Hop with another mom working on fitness and weight loss. We would love to have you join us. I will send more information when I have more details. By the way – I think I failed on Father’s day too (not even a card) and I only have ONE baby!!

      1. I will keep you posted – I will be talking to my co-conspirator later this week and I will get back to you!!
        In the mean time – I am rooting for you!

  2. I doubt your kids were too loud and who cares if they were… at least they weren’t having a screaming fit! Never apologize for having happy babies 🙂 Congrats on your award and thanks again for the nomination. Good luck with the exercise, it is definitely something that is for yourself!

  3. You could always pinch them and show what loud x 2 really sounds like? Ok, bad idea. Also….I love the art work….kids do such amazing jobs of decorating our homes for us!

Leave a Reply

