sleeping

Goodbye, Morning Nap.  I can’t tell you how much I will miss you.

Because of you, I had a few uninterrupted minutes each day to drink coffee, in silence, and catch up on the news.  More often than not, you were the reason my laundry gets done and my bathroom gets cleaned.  And thanks to you, I didn’t have to try to brush my teeth and apply makeup while also keeping two toddlers from drowning themselves in the toilet and stabbing eachother with the razor blades in my bathroom cabinet.

Now that you’re gone, all that has changed.

I’m told I was lucky to have you as long as I did.  My nephew was finished with you at the tender age of 10 months.  Well, my boys are nearly 13 months now, and one of them, D, has decided he doesn’t need you anymore.  It’s true, his brother R still likes it when you come around.  But – and I say this with a heavy heart – as far as I’m concerned, if one of them is done with you, it might as well be both.  The impact on me is the same.

I guess your abrupt departure from our lives isn’t without its benefits.  Now that I don’t have to factor you into our day, I might be able to take the boys out of the house for more than a couple of hours.  I can meet up with the other moms and reminisce about the good times we had with you in our lives.  But let’s be honest.  I’d take you over those other moms, any day.

Without you, I will be clinging for dear life to your cousin, Afternoon Nap.   The cleanliness of my home, the opportunity to eat a meal, and the ability to pee with the bathroom door closed – it’s all on Afternoon Nap, now.  No pressure, though, Afternoon Nap.

And so, Morning Nap – adios.  I’ll always look back fondly on our time together. I never should have taken you for granted.

And you, Afternoon Nap?  Please stick around for a good long while. I have twins. I need you.

16 thoughts on “Mourning Morning Nap

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. Well I am lucky to have the afternoon nap and I still give one to my 5,4, and 18 month kids. The older ones do not always go down, but the upside is that if they dont want to nap. then they go to bed earlier! Cherish the afternoon nap and I will keep you in my thoughts that it stays with you as long as possible!

  2. I’m sooooo sorry for your loss too. Especially since mine is approaching 13 months. I dread the farewell to the morning nap. At least I can enjoy it, and appreciate it for as long as it will last. Thank you!

  3. My kids don’t sleep! Sawyer would take a 1-2 hour afternoon nap only and he dropped it around 15-16 months. He would go to bed at 10-11pm and up at 9am no naps! I was so sad when naptime left, I used to nap too!

  4. Oy. I was lucky enough to have the morning nap (with a late afternoon nap) until 16 months with my twins. I was hoping that a suuuper long afternoon nap might replace it. (Most days, it’s just a normal length afternoon nap). The first couple months are the worst, and then you’ll look back and think “how weird that they used to sleep twice!”

  5. So Sorry! Know the feeling. It was hard to lose the morning nap … now I’m facing losing the afternoon one too, my little guy has decided most days that he doesn’t need a nap at all…and when he does it just becomes a problem to get him to bed before I want to go to bed!

  6. Oh my word I feel your pain! Breaking up with Morning Nap is heartbreaking! I literally laughed out loud when you said about how “the cleanliness of my home, the opportunity to eat a meal, and the ability to pee with the bathroom door closed” all depend on Afternoon Nap. That thought has crossed my mind infinite times. Here’s hoping that Afternoon Nap sticks around for a long, long, LONG time.

  7. good luck to you. my boy stopped naps altogether when he turned 2. no naps. at all. ever. sun up to sun down, he ran. daily. every . . . . day . . . again, good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

